YAY! Flash and Second Life working!

I had a little trouble installing both Flash and Second Life on Ubuntu, since they seemed to want to use different versions of one particular library. But in the end the solution was astonishingly simple.

Download Second Life from getdeb.net. Choose your OS version and search for ‘Second Life’. I got it working nice and fast, graphics looking wonderful, and with streaming music! For ages my experience has been ‘choose any two of the three’ making Second Life not so enjoyable. I’m looking forward to Esperanto lessons again, and hoping that the voice chat will work now.

In the end, Flash was as easy as:

sudo apt-get install nspluginwrapper flashplugin-nonfree

I tried all sorts of crazy wrapping techniques with 32-bit libraries and symbolic links, none of which worked. But the apt-get just did it all for me, very nicely. It’s better than the Debian Lenny out-of-the-box Flash support which required me to press a ginormous PLAY button before Flash would load. This just works exactly as you’d expect it to.

Delighted though i am with Ubuntu, i have just today been informed of Dreamlinux which is another Debian-based distribution, but tweaked up to resemble Mac OSX. I think i might just have to try out the Live USB of that! :)

Update: Oh, and by the way, here’s how to install Skype on a 64-bit Ubuntu Hardy Heron:

sudo apt-get install ia32-libs lib32asound2 libasound2-plugins; wget -O skype-install.deb http://www.skype.com/go/getskype-linux-ubuntu; sudo dpkg -i --force-all skype-install.deb

Thanks very much to the Ubuntu forums for that piece of magic! :)

6 comments on “YAY! Flash and Second Life working!

  1. Hi, I really like your site, nice posts! I would like to give you a free flash banner for you to advertise in other blogs/sites if you need one of course. Anyways great blog! Flash Banners Thanks

  2. This kinds of things always makes me crazy as if I can't even fix it myself, good thing you were here to help us and luckily I found this entry.. thanks for sharing.

  3. My friend ask that kind of problem.. I don't know the answer, But know I can help because of this blog.. Thank you for posting this.. It is really helpful.. More power!!!

Leave a Reply

