Probably about time i said this

I have been enjoying the church and the home group so much lately … it is great to feel that i belong somewhere. The people are lovely. I’ve tried other churches in Winchester, but i’ve never found such a warm welcome as i have at the Harvest Church.

So i have become a Christian. Well, you could say, i’ve always been a Christian. But i’ve had so many doubts and questions, as many of my readers know so well. I have been agnostic in the extreme, refusing to make up my mind about anything. It was tough! It was also not very comforting in the long run. I still believe that all major religions have their merits, and i’m not saying that i suddenly understand everything, or believe everything that Christianity teaches. But it feels good to have made up my mind to follow one path and feel accepted on it.

Here’s the verse that converted me:

For even if there are so-called gods, whether in heaven or on earth (as indeed there are many “gods” and many “lords”), yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom all things came and for whom we live; and there is but one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom all things came and through whom we live.

1 Corinthians 8: 5-6 (New International Version)

That was it, that bit in bold. Other people can believe in other gods. That is perfectly valid, and more power to them for having their beliefs and understandings. Yet for me, this is what i have decided to believe.

It probably comes as a bit of a surprise, after my determination that the church members were not going to convert me! I actually feel a little bit embarrassed, having to come out as Christian! But it feels right. I feel a weight has been lifted. I was searching, and i found what i was looking for. I now have something to believe in. I now feel loved by God. It wasn’t a naive decision; it was “Okay, this sounds good. I’m willing to believe it might be true, and if it is, i had better do something about it.”

I promise i’m not going to become a bible-bashing evangelical Christian! I know as well as anybody how important it is to follow your own path and make up your own mind. However, i am perfectly willing to talk about my experiences with anyone who wants to know.

Feel-good songs of the year

Four of my favourite songs of the year, which cheer me up no matter what i’m feeling:

The Holloways – Generator

May i remind you that you don’t live in poverty
You’ve got your youth, and you’ve got a roof over your head.

Noah and the Whale – Five Years Time

And though nearly all these moments are just in my head
I’ll be thinking about them as i’m lying in bed
And i know that really, it might not even come true
But in my mind i’m having a pretty good time with you.

A-Punk – Vampire Weekend

No point quoting any lyrics here – it’s the tune and the rhythm that i like so much!

Frank Turner – Reasons not to be an idiot

Why are you sat at home?
Your’re not designed to be alone.
It’s a lovely sunny day
Get up, get down and get outside!

Funny, all these songs have a kind of folk feel to them.

What are your favourite songs of the year? Not necessarily released this year, but what have you enjoyed listening to?

By sermoa Posted in music