Learning from my apprentices

I feel truly blessed to have the opportunity to be a mentor to my apprentices Alberto and despo. I am finding that i am really enjoying the role, and i feel such a sense of compassion and pride for my apprentices.

Whenever i pair with anyone, i always learn something. Although i am spending much of my time consciously teaching, to also learn from my apprentices by pairing with them gives me such a good feeling.

Thanks to despo, i am now using iTerm instead of Terminal. I have been encouraged finally to use Enrique’s Vim Ruby Refactoring tool, we have set up spork and autospec, and i have learnt about RSpec’s nested format. Together we both found out how to use RSpec shared examples today.

Importantly, despo is helping me to realise that i have a tendency to hold too much in my head, and try to do too much at once. I am grateful to despo for restraining me from racing ahead too fast, and for reminding me to do one thing at a time. It is good for me to realise what i need to do to become better at teaching.

I have not yet had the opportunity to pair for more than a few hours with Alberto, but i know i will get the chance soon, and i know i will learn new things from Alberto too, which excites me no end! :)

One comment on “Learning from my apprentices

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Learning from my apprentices « aimee daniells -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

