An Io testing framework

I couldn’t go on for much longer in Io without somehow testing my code. I’m okay with printing out results for a little while, but as soon as i come to refactoring my code i feel the need to assert somehow the results i’m expecting.

I had a nice chat with Matt Pep about it and tried a few things before i came to the idea of adding a shouldEqual slot on Object so that anything can assert equality.

Object shouldEqual := method(expected,
  if(self == expected,
    "." print,
    ("Expected " .. self .. " to equal " .. expected) println
  )
)

This means i can do a few things like this:

myList := List2d clone
myList dim(3, 5)
myList items size shouldEqual(5)

And things like this:

myList set(2, 3, "Middle")
myList get(2, 3) shouldEqual("Middle")

The only question i have now is: how do i take that assertEqual slot definition out of this file and into a file of its own that i can include everywhere from now on?

I’d like to do something like:

require('testFramework.io')

How would you do such a thing in Io?

I’m afraid i still haven’t finished Day 2′s exercises yet! I must move on to Day 3 tomorrow …! :)

Update

Susan Potter has found the answer! I will try this later: Io’s “require”