The Facebook Food List Challenge for vegans and vegetarians

I am doing the 100 Food List Challenge on Facebook. I’m interested to see how many can be eaten by vegans and vegetarians. I didn’t know what a lot of the foods were, so this involved a bit of research.

I will present food as vegan if i think it could be made vegan and still count for ticking off the list. Don’t assume that because i say (for example) Borscht can be made vegan that it is always vegan. Some things like Currywurst and S’mores are almost never vegan, and you’ll have to look very hard to find a vegan version. But that’s all part of the challenge, right?! ;)

Vegan

2. Absinthe – as with all alcohol, check the filtering process
4. Baba Ghanoush – made with aubergine, chickpeas and tahini
6. Baklava – can be vegan, but check for butter in the filo pastry
8. Bellini – an Italian fruit cocktail usually containing Prosecco so make sure the Prosecco is good for vegans
10. Biscuits and gravy – American biscuit bread is like British scones. I’m sure you can make a vegan version!
12. Black truffle – truffles are picked from underground mushrooms
13. Borscht – mainly beetroot and cabbage, but be careful, it often contains beef, and maybe butter
20. Chile Relleno – a stuffed poblano pepper, may contain meat, cheese and egg, but i’m sure a vegan variation would still count
22. Churros – deep fried doughnut sticks, can be made vegan but don’t assume they are
24. Cognac – vegan cognac is available
27. Currywurst – it’s German sausage. not usually vegan, but if you look hard you could find one
28. Dandelion Wine – obviously check the wine
30. Durian – a South Asian fruit from the durian tree, custardy almondy flavour
35. Fresh Spring Rolls – vegetables wrapped in rice paper, not fried, may contain meat so be careful
37. Fried Green Tomatoes – but check what it’s fried in
38. Fried Plantain – usually covered in batter so watch out for milk, egg and butter
39. Frito Pie – corn chips and chili baked as a casserole, caution: may contain cheese
42. Funnel Cake – basically fried batter, i think there could be a vegan version
43. Gazpacho – a tomato-based vegetable soup, usually vegan but can contain meat stock or seafood
46. Goulash – Hungarian soup, usually contains beef, but vegan versions are available
47. Gumbo – a southern Louisiana stew that often contains meat or fish, but could be made vegan
48. Haggis – usually contains sheep offal, but vegan haggis is easily found, and still counts
50. Heirloom Tomatoes – open-pollinated hand-cultivated tomatoes in a variety of shapes and colours
60. Mimosa – half champagne, half orange juice – look for vegan champagne
62. Morel Mushrooms – a spongy, slightly toxic mushroom
63. Nettle Tea – buy from a health food shop, or put on some gloves and pick your own to boil
66. Paella – it often contains meat or fish but can be made just with vegetables; paella is a Catalan word for the large shallow pan
70. Phaal – a curry hotter than vindaloo, often contains meat but could be made for vegans, though watch out for ghee
72. Pho – Vietnamese rice noodle stew, vegan versions usually substitute meat with tofu
74. Pistachio Ice Cream – yes, dairy-free pistachio ice cream exists!
75. Po’ Boy – Louisiana submarine sandwich, normally contain meat but vegan versions are available
77. Polenta – ground cornmeal
78. Prickly Pear – the fruit of a paddle cactus
81. Root Beer Float – make your own with dairy-free ice cream
82. S’mores – good luck finding vegan graham crackers and vegan marshmallows; it’s tricky but not impossible
83. Sauerkraut – fermented cabbage
89. Som Tam – a Thai salad based on shredded papaya; often vegan but as with all Thai food, watch out for fish sauce
90. Spaetzle – German egg noodles, you can make a vegan version
94. Sweet Potato Fries – just check what they’re fried in
96. Tom Yum – a spicy clear soup from Thailand, many variations including some vegan ones
97. Umeboshi – Japanese dried and pickled ume fruit
99. Wasabi Peas – dried peas coated with wasabi, Japanese horseradish
100. Zucchini Flowers – they are usually served stuffed with something, so check for that

Vegan target: 43

Vegetarian

All of the above, plus …

9. Bird’s nest soup – a Chinese delicacy made from a dissolved nest built from the saliva of a swift
51. Honeycomb – the wax built by honey bees

Vegetarian target: 45

Lacto-ovo vegetarian

All of the above, plus …

17. Cheese fondue – watch out for rennet in the cheese
29. Dulche De Leche – slowly simmered sugar and milk
32. Eggs Benedict – poached egg on English muffin, check for free range eggs
45. Goat’s Milk
53. Huevos Rancheros – fried eggs on corn tortillas with tomato and chili sauce
56. Key Lime Pie – probably vegetarian, but check the ingredients for gelatin or animal fat
58. Lassi – an Indian yoghurt drink mixed with spices
67. Paneer – it’s a curd cheese of Indian origin
69. Pavlova – meringue, cream and fruit
73. Pineapple and Cottage Cheese – cottage cheese does not contain rennet, but might contain gelatin
76. Pocky – Japanese chocolate covered biscuit sticks, the original contains animal shortening but Mikado, the UK equivalent, is suitable for vegetarians

Lacto-ovo vegetarian target: 56

Pescetarian

All of the above, plus …

1. Abalone – it’s sea snails
5. Bagel and Lox – Lox is salmon fillet
14. Calamari – fried squid
15. Carp
16. Caviar – definitely not vegetarian because the fish has to be killed to get the eggs
23. Clam chowder
25. Crab cakes
31. Eel
33. Fish Tacos
36. Fried Catfish
41. Fugu – it’s a Japanese pufferfish
59. Lobster
80. Raw Oysters
84. Sea Urchin
85. Shark
88. Soft Shell Crab

Pescetarian target: 72

Meat-eater

All of the above, plus …

3. Alligator
7. Barbecue ribs
11. Black pudding – a sausage made from dried blood
18. Chicken and Waffles
19. Chicken Tikka Masala
21. Chitlins – pig intestines!
26. Crickets
34. Foie Gras – the liver of a duck or goose
40. Frogs Legs
44. Goat
49. Head Cheese – meat and jelly from the head of a pig, sheep or cow
52. Hostess Fruit Pie – they contain beef fat
54. Jerk Chicken
55. Kangaroo
57. Kobe Beef
61. MoonPie – it contains gelatin
64. Octopus
65. Oxtail Soup – literally made with the tail of a cow
68. Pastrami on Rye – pastrami is preserved meat, usually from beef, sometimes pork or mutton
71. Philly Cheese Steak – steak and cheese in a long roll
79. Rabbit Stew
86. Snail
87. Snake
91. Spam – spiced ham, munged up and shoved in a tin
92. Squirrel
93. Steak Tartare
95. Sweetbreads – glands taken from the throat, heart or stomach of a calf or lamb
98. Venison – the meat of a game animal such as deer, antelope, wild boar

Meat-eater target: 100

So there we have it! :) Please correct me if you spot any mistakes! Happy eating, whether you choose to do it all, or go for a subset.

I just found The Vegan’s Hundred which is a full list of 100 things that are animal-free or can be made vegan, which are worth trying! :)

About these ads

3 comments on “The Facebook Food List Challenge for vegans and vegetarians

  1. In Scotland, vegetarian haggis is easily gotten. It is the spices used in the meat kind, and a lot of beans and such. Really good. And I put that on the list, because I say it counts.

    • awesome, thanks Ellen, i will move it. now i look it up, i find there is vegan haggis too! brilliant! :D

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s