Hello world!

Wow, i think i like WordPress! This morning i decided it was time to get away from LiveJournal. This afternoon i have a WordPress blog set up, and i’m ready to go!

I have been getting increasingly annoyed with Six Apart over the last several years, and i just feel the time has come to take control of my own blog, not waiting around for anyone to decide whether the things i post are acceptable or not, and whether i am about to be deleted. I had a few requirements: RSS integration and OpenID support, in order to keep the sense of being connected with other people, whilst at the same time being separated from LiveJournal, or any other journaling sites which may end up going the same way as LiveJournal. WordPress gives you RSS for free, and i found a neat little plugin which seems to do the OpenID quite nicely. I have no requirement for friends-only posting since i generally made my posts either public or private on LiveJournal. I will find a nice RSS aggregator for keeping up with my friends at LiveJournal, and if i miss some friends-only posts … well … i had too much to read anyway!

By sermoa Posted in admin

3 comments on “Hello world!

  1. Gt your comment on Liz’z, and good to see; I haven’t got as far as exporting yet, but there are some very good plugins around, and yes, it really is this easy.

    I’ve got to go buy a new mouse now, it’s sort of delaying my work on my site a bit :-(

Leave a Reply

