This feels good!

I’ve spent pretty much the whole day finding this alternative to LJ and setting up, but wow, it feels good! I feel so liberated, like i’m taking control. Okay, i probably never posted any pictures that could get me banned from LiveJournal, but who knows how long it will be before they make a new rule: “Anyone who disagrees with LiveJournal’s policies will be banned”!

I really love this WordPress thing. I’ve just noticed it saving my draft, just like LiveJournal did. It’s massively configurable and i haven’t even begun to look what themes might be available for me to use. To start with i’m pretty happy with this default one. I am able to use this blog to connect to my openid.net identity, and thus i can authenticate myself on LiveJournal to post on other people’s entries. Anyone with a LiveJournal has an OpenID so they can comment here, too. I haven’t yet looked into a good RSS aggregator, but i know there are good ones out there, so i’m sure i’ll find something appropriate. This is great! We have the technology to take control of blogging, and not be at the mercy of LiveJournal, Six Apart, and their silly lawsuits!

I’m going out to a barbecue with some work colleagues tonight, so i better go and get ready. I am SO GLAD i’ve done this today, and i think it’s going to encourage me to blog a lot more often. YAY!! :)

3 comments on “This feels good!

  1. congratulations aimee … i’ve been a happy girl since switching to wordpress YEARS ago … i KNOW you will be too. clever monkey!

  2. Hooray! Thank you Cheryl, Lola! Wow, this is brilliant! Not only do i *not* lose touch with my LJ friends, but i might even find it easier to keep in touch with other friends using other blogs, wherever they may be! This is soooo liberating!! :D

Leave a Reply

