Feeling sleepy …

I have had a very hectic day week year. We had to do a demo today on the new version of our software, which really isn’t very reliable yet, and i felt awful, letting our product manager go into the demo not really knowing whether the demo would work or not. It relies on network connectivity and all sorts of things can go wrong, so it really was dodgy. Apparently it went quite well, though.

I really need to go to bed at a good time tonight because i have had too many late nights recently. Part of that is due to the whole Six Apart fiasco, but mostly it is due to me having poor self-control!

LJ support have been quite nice to me, replying to my abuse report. They pointed me to a suggestion that OpenID comments be treated differently to anonymous comments, something that i would appreciate greatly. I’m glad that it hasn’t been forgotten.

I’ve been having an idea of a way of forming communities in a similar way to an RSS aggregator. Something about posts i make being automatically cross-posted to a community on another site, either individually or chosen by tag (ie every post i make with a particular tag could be sucked up into the community). That community would of course have its own RSS output which people could follow. I’d love to code something along those lines, but i would be better off leaving it to the experts in the RSS aggregator domain. I have been wondering whether it might already be possible with Bloglines, but i don’t think it is quite.

Two more things … i might fancy learning Interlingua … wonder where i can attend classes? … and Nye has made a lovely MyChores post – it’s things like that which make me very happy i made MyChores!

9 comments on “Feeling sleepy …

  1. don’t know if you know, but WordPress already has functionality so that any “category” can be accessed as a feed. so that part exists already. i.e. if I knew the right url to type in I could subscribe now to any of your categories on its own, without you having to do anything.

    haven’t got the link to hand but it’s in the WP codex somewhere…

  2. Speaking about going to bed on time: if the timestamp of this comment says it’s 3:05 AM, it’s correct… (I did sleep though, just woke up at 2 AM, and couldn’t resist turning my laptop on)

    Good that LJ support is supportive…

    Interlingua? Why not Esperanto?

    (woohoo, my first comment on your new blog!)

  3. Bit confused since I didn’t see my comment, but I supposed they don’t appear immediately, but are screened?
    Oh well, you can delete this one once you’ve seen it..
    Still need to find out how these ‘groups’ on WP work

  4. To Jennifer: Aha! I did not know that was possible, but i am very excited to hear it is! I’ll look up the WordPress documentation. Thank you! :)

  5. To Noodlefan: Lovely to hear from you!! :) Comments from new people are always screened initially, but if you use your OpenID in future, my blog will know who you are and approve your comment automatically.

    I have tried twice to learn Esperanto, but didn’t get very far. Esperanto always feels a little bit ‘juttery’ to me, as if it’s obvious that it’s a made up language, not a natural one. Wheras Interlingua seems to scan very smoothly. I guess they have taken a long time thinking about every word and every grammatical rule, always drawing on the source languages for inspiration.

    Whichever language i learn, i know i need to attend a class. Having tried to teach myself Esperanto, Polish and Welsh at home, i know i never get very far on my own efforts! ;)

  6. Thanks for the OpenID info! The only drawback of commenting this way, is that I don’t get replies emailed automatically ;-) Which reminds me of my friends’ MoveableType blogs. Or is there a way to get mails?

    Yeah, going to a class is more stimulating than trying to pull yourself up on your own bootstraps (or how is the expression exactly?)

    I must say I’ve never taken a close look at Interlingua, only at Esperanto, and I have a very dedicated Esperantist friend.

  7. I am going to look into plugins for both nested/threaded commenting, and email notifications. Both would be useful enhancements. Fortunately there’s a million different plugins for WordPress, so i’m sure somebody has done it.

Leave a Reply

