Doubting my gardening abilities

I am not a natural born gardener. It would be nice if i were, but unfortunately it just doesn’t come instinctively to me. I generally rely on the supposition that the plants have a will to live whether i help them or not, and unfortunately it’s not usually the case.

Anyway, i used my £10 gift voucher at the gardening centre to get some compost and a small evergreen shrub with beautiful leaves which start green and slowly turn red for winter, and produces white flowers in May. It is called a Leucothoe Scarletta. I think it looks really pretty. I just hope it doesn’t die. I already realised that i could have killed it by putting it in the new compost, because it doesn’t like Lime. So i’ll just keep it in the pot it’s in for now. It looks nice on our balcony.

I have re-planted the Nasturtiums, Asters and Petunias (the Marigolds died) and hope that something comes of those. We want to get some tulips but they don’t come until Spring. I’d rather get some that are already growing, rather than plant bulbs now. I find it easier to take care of something that is already there than to produce something from bulb or seed.

4 comments on “Doubting my gardening abilities

  1. Pingback: A little place of calm » Blog Archive » There’s life in the plants yet!

Leave a Reply

