Buy Nothing Day

For those who are interested … either as a personal challenge or as a message to the retail industry … tomorrow is Buy Nothing Day.

Buy Nothing Day

buynothingday.co.uk

Everything we buy has an impact on our planet. Buy Nothing Day highlights the environmental and ethical consequences of consumerism. The developed countries – only 20% of the world population are consuming over 80% of the earth’s natural resources, causing a disproportionate level of environmental damage and unfair distribution of wealth.

This year, Buy Nothing Day will be biggest 24-hour moratorium against consumerism ever. People in around the UK will make a pact with themselves to take a break from shopping as a personal experiment or public statement and the best thing is – IT’S FREE!!

2 comments on “Buy Nothing Day

  1. As much as I believe in controlling consumerism, I have always thought Buy Nothing Day is an ineffective protest.

    Either, you go shopping, identify everything you would’ve bought on the day and then vow to never buy that stuff, or you’re just going to buy the same stuff the next time you go shopping.

    For example, today I bought a bookshelf for my living room and someone’s xmas present. If I’d not bought them today, it’d have been the next time I could’ve got a lift to Ikea. If I was serious about Buy Nothing I should have vowed to never buy a bookshelf and just kept all my books in a pile from now on, I also should’ve ditched the xmas gift and told my relative that they aren’t getting a present this year as a protest against consumerism.

    I think the concept would be much more effective if it was something like Buy Less Month or Buy Local Week etc. It would be much more effective spending a longer period repeatedly asking yourself ‘do I really need this’ or ‘how many thousands of miles has this been transported’ etc, I think that would have more of a long term effect on people’s habits than ‘this weekend I did my xmas shopping spree on sunday instead, take that consumerism!’.

  2. Fair points, i can agree with you.

    However, i also think it has its benefits, particularly on a personal level. For example, i walked back from taking my cousins swimming today, and fancied a pack of crisps. But because it’s Buy Nothing Day i decided not to.

    I also think it could send a message to the shops, if they wonder why their sales were low today, so close to Christmas, then they’d find out about Buy Nothing Day and realise that they are not in control of the masses – people can still act of their own free will!

    But it depends on how many people participated.

Leave a Reply

