ct5k – day two

I bought some running shoes today! Yes, i’m actually serious about this, lol!

I went to a proper sports shop along with a colleague from work (for moral support) and they had this treadmill and a video at my feet. I had to take off my shoes and socks, and they filmed me running! Then they slowed it down and used it to prove that i tend to roll my left foot inwards, so they found some shoes to counteract that tendency. I tried one pair but they weren’t enough support, but then i tried another pair and they were perfect! I even managed to bargain a 15% discount because i’d already told them how much i wanted to spend! :)

So naturally i had to go running again tonight to try out my new shoes! I did much better today: i didn’t die quite so much as yesterday. The dead-legs phenomenon didn’t hit until the last run, whereas it came in the 5th run yesterday. It was a completely different experience tonight. Yesterday i felt the 60-second runs were too long (“Surely that’s longer than 60 seconds!!”) but today i thought the walking periods were too long (“Isn’t it time to start running again now?!”)

I felt stiff today, but not sore. It was my inner thighs most of the day, but after my run tonight i feel the strain in my calf muscles. It’s great though because i know the exercise is having an effect! :) I also wasn’t nearly so puffed out tonight as i was last night.

I will run again on Saturday, and then i will be ready to begin Week 2 on Monday! Excellent! :D

2 comments on “ct5k – day two

  1. Don’t you just love that sore but not exhausted feeling working out gives you? I get that way after lifting weights every morning!

Leave a Reply

