Success all round!

I got my computer fixed last night! My wonderfully helpful work colleague came over to help me get it all wired up back together in the new case. It was absolutely the power supply that was broken. We plugged it into the new case and it just worked straight away. Hooray! The new PSU is way quieter as well, which is an added bonus. Here is the new equipment:

New computer case

We also installed the graphics card and got it working with minimum of fuss, meaning that i was able to go on Second Life last night for the first time ever! Haha that was a fun experience! :)

New graphics card

I should also be able to install Beryl for all sorts of wonderful desktop effects like this!

I also treated myself to a new mobile phone today. It was kind of a whim, but i am really pleased with it. It has a camera, video camera, radio and plays mp3s. It came with a 1GB micro-SD card with an adapter to SD. I also got 800 free text messages for the next four months which means i won’t need to top up until at least June!

Nokia 5200

Beautiful! :D

Plus things are going great at work! I have spent two days coding and loved it! I’m unfortunately not going on the C# course until March, but i have made a start anyway, just picking up what i can. It is the first time in ages that i have been truly enjoying my job!

Sooo … good news all round! I am so happy to have my computer back! :)

14 comments on “Success all round!

  1. Nice new hardware you got!

    About power supplies: can you plug in any power supply to any motherboard, or are there different “form factors” and what not?

    About your phone: looks nice and fresh! What model is it?
    (can’t keep up with all the new models)

  2. Thanks! I am very pleased with it especially now i have the graphics driver installed for full 3d effects!

    I suppose most power supplies are standard. The problem with mine was it was a small one to fit a very small case. Most people are more likely to have a standard size. You need to be careful what power input/output it requires. Also you may want to check that it has the right connectors into your mainboard, hard drive, etc.

    The phone is a Nokia 5200 and i really love it! :D

  3. (I’m a little late…)

    I’m glad you got it all working again. :-)

    BTW, OpenID doesn’t seem to be working – at least not for me.

  4. Thanks Paul!

    The OpenID does work but only if you log in first. You can’t seem to log in and post a comment in one go, unfortunately. I keep meaning to look into it and not getting around to it …

  5. good thing you had your desktop fixed, I also enjoy experimenting with my pc, and ending frustrated because I can't make it open again, so I always call my tech friend to help me fix it again LOL, by the way we had the same phone.. what a coincidence..

  6. Wow… just wow! Brings back the memories of my first 386 DX 16 with windows 2.8. Love it.

  7. About the shape and grace of this phone we know when i have to assign articles in BRM to give the presentation then this done in amazing and quick that i foundNCLEX review classes online Free NCLEX review exam online to help you pass the NCLEX now.

Leave a Reply

