Amazing!

In just 2 days my Linux video has had more hits on youtube than my ‘other’ video has had in over a year!

My other video is of Winchester firework display 2006, taken on my mobile phone. Nowhere near as exciting as Linux! :)

PS. look at the front cover of Linux Format for February (click to enlarge)

Linux Format magazine

“Wean your friends off the Microsoft addiction” – i love that!

The debate raged on at work today about when open source software is more reliable, and whether people deserve to be paid for writing good quality software. The thing is, there is only one person at work who is pro-Microsoft. The rest use open source where they can, and only use Windows because they feel they have to. I am trying to change that opinion, one person at a time. There are quite a few at work who have expressed an interest in trying Linux after watching my video! :)

By sermoa Posted in linux

4 comments on “Amazing!

  1. I do have a pc, three actually. I just need to get the files I want to keep off of them and then they’re golden to run Linux. I want to expand my horizons of different OS’s.

  2. A good place to start is with a magazine – they usually have a free DVD with a version of Linux, and often an installer guide inside.

    If you don’t have one of them, you can download the source and burn your own DVD/CD. Once you’ve got a disc it’s actually pretty obvious what you have to do to get started.

    I would recommend you start with Mandriva and the KDE environment … it’s a nice easy one to get used to. You can even run it ‘live’ – straight off the disc without having to install anything.

    http://www.mandriva.com/en/product/mandriva-linux-one

    Download that, put it on a DVD or CD, restart your computer with the disc in, see how you get on! If you’re worried about anything, ask it to install Linux alongside your existing operating system, then you’ll get a choice which to use every time you boot up.

Leave a Reply

