Melancholy

It is with sadness that i reflect upon how great LJ once was, and how much i miss it.

I wrote a little letter to Brad. I made some spelling mistakes in it, which unfortunately i can’t edit now, but this is what it was supposed to say …

Dear Brad,

I am having a solemn afternoon, reflecting on what LiveJournal used to be, how much i loved it, and how drastically it has changed beyond all recognition.

I was a huge LJ fan once upon a time. I had a paid account, not because i particularly wanted the extra features, but because i wanted to support something that i loved so much. I actually enjoyed the days of invite codes because i loved to invite people! It gave me such satisfaction to look at my list of ‘children’ LJ accounts. I really got to know people … i used to call it LifeJournal instead of LiveJournal because you could become so intimately involved in people’s lives.

It had such a cosy home-grown feel. I used to like that little picture of you working hard on your computer, dreaming up exciting new features for us! News posts were a reason to get excited; i would eagerly go and try out whatever feature you had just released! These days a news post is a cause for despair: what awful idea have they cooked up this time?!

Now everything that was good about LJ has gone, and i feel so sorry for you. Six Apart and SUP have murdered the site that you created, loved and nurtured. They have mangled it and corrupted it into an ugly monster with no resemblance at all of the friendly place it used to be. Many of the userbase have become disillusioned, communities have become fractured, friends have left and gone elsewhere, and i feel i have lost touch with some of my closest friends because we no longer have this constant of LiveJournal to keep us all together.

I’d like to express my sincere condolences to you for what LiveJournal has become.

However, all is not lost, and i have to thank you for the gifts you have left us with. The original spirit of LiveJournal still lives on, through the open source code that other sites have taken and kept pure. No matter what SUP end up doing to LiveJournal, the other sites (particularly InsaneJournal) are learning from those mistakes and remaining true to what their userbase want. I must also thank you for OpenID which is truly the saving grace of this whole LJ disaster. Without it we would really become isolated from each other. There are other things that help keep us together too: RSS feeds and trackbacks. But OpenID is, in my opinion, the most innovative piece of technology that the Internet has ever seen, and i thank you for it from the bottom of my heart.

Though my words are insufficient, please feel the depth of my emotion as i grieve for what is lost, and thank you sincerely for what we still have.

With love and best wishes,
Aimee.

I had forgotten how much LiveJournal once meant to me until i started writing about it. It is so sad what has happened to it, and strengthens my resolve that i will never ever, under any circumstances, let anything like that happen to MyChores.

I wonder whether Brad will reply to me?

Leave a Reply

