On meeting my heroes!

Okay, so the title is slightly exaggerated, but seriously, these guys are highly admired in our world! This morning, Geoffrey Grosenbach, well known for the excellent PeepCode tutorials, helped me with some Ajax stuff … and this evening i found myself in a lift with David Heinemeier Hansson, creator of Ruby on Rails!

I kinda looked across and thought, “Hmm, that looks like David!” and i thought, well no harm in asking! I’d rather look like a fool for asking someone who isn’t, than miss an opportunity! So i was kind of like, “Are you David?!” – “Yeah!” – “OH WOW! I’m in a lift with David!” hahaha! Then the lift doors closed as my colleague had got out, and i’d missed my floor, so i was alone in a lift with David! We had a nice quick chat, and i did what i’d been hoping to do: give a sincere ‘thank you’ to David. I explained that, thanks to Rails, i have a job that i love. I said a bit about MyChores, and gave David a card. I also handed over a card of our company (my boss should be pleased!). The only thing i forgot to do was tell David my name. But hey, never mind!

Wow, what an incredible birthday present!! :)

I had a really lovely birthday, although it didn’t actually feel like a birthday. I was more excited about Rails stuff than because it was my birthday. But we had a lovely meal out this evening, saw the Brandenburger Tor and the Reichstag, and then went for drinks on the bank of the Spree River (?) near Friedrichstraße. It was great! :)

Leave a Reply

