Oh very good!!

You know what – church was alright! :) The music was good, the people were friendly-but-not-too-pushy. Most of them seem to be from South Africa, heh! :) I might talk a little more about the church experience later … but for now …

My ‘reward’ for going to church, hahaha!

My gorgeous new Acer netbook

I love it!! I am sitting in the living room right now, connected to the wireless network, surfing the internet. It’s easy to type on, especially now i switched the keyboard layout to Dvorak. I’m glad i thought to buy a little mouse because i don’t get on too well with trackpads. I have enabled the XFCE advanced settings, downloaded Firefox 3, installed the Gimp … all is very, very good! :)

It is so cool how i can just take the SD card out of the camera, slot it into the Acer and it reads the pictures straight away, no fuss. Delightful! :)

It has a web cam, which may mean i can do Skype video calls. That would be cool! As a machine it works very nicely, makes a very faint hum, the screen is bright and clear, and the keyboard is perfectly responsive. The Linpus Linux it comes with is perfectly useable. I might be tempted to switch to Ubuntu, but i know this is designed to be fast and energy efficient, so i think i’ll stick with it for now. I managed to get rid of the XP-imitation title bar buttons, so i’m happy! :)

7 comments on “Oh very good!!

  1. Ha, yeah, tricky one. It isn’t available in the keyboard layouts so i had to
    vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    and set up the following InputDevice settings:

    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Keyboard0"
            Driver      "kbd"
            Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
            Option      "XkbLayout" "gb,us(euro)"
            Option      "XkbVariant" "dvorak,"
            Option      "XkbOptions" "grp:alt_shift_toggle"

    I made it switch between Dvorak and Qwerty with an alt-shift. By the way, these settings might be particular to UK Dvorak … i can’t quite remember how it all works to be honest.

  2. As this will be the 1st time I’m using Linpus, could you tell me how & where I make this entry? I’m a quick learn so you won’t be wasting your time ;-)

  3. You will see a section for InputDevice. Most of it will be already there. You just need to tweak it to match your preferences.

Leave a Reply

