Are we human, or are we dancer?

Well the worst of my illness is definitely over: i have managed to stay awake all day and i have just made some delicious ginger cookies!

Ginger cookies

I haven’t made cookies for ages! They’re so fun and easy to make, and trust me: they taste wonderful!

I’ve decided not to go out to the fireworks tonight because the weather is not too happy. Besides, i can probably see them just from looking out of the window!

Have you all heard that lovely new song from The Killers?

Are we human, or are we dancer?
My sign is vital, my hands are cold
And I’m on my knees looking for the answer
Are we human, or are we dancer?

I really have no idea what the song is supposed to be about, but i love the tune and it makes me want to dance! I take it to mean that we have a choice how we go through our lives: worrying and stressing about everything or just choosing to let it all go … and dance instead! What do you think of the song, and what do you think it is about?

7 comments on “Are we human, or are we dancer?

  1. Probably a wise move, re the fireworks. I remember going to a fireworks display at Ascot racecourse many many years ago, with my wife and children, along with several other relatives. It was a longish walk from where we parked the car, and I think it was dry, but I’ve never been so cold in my life (even when I lived in Canada).
    Those cookies look great — I shall have a virtual one if I may, please.

  2. I have heard the song.

    I had it playing through my head during exams.

    Could i also have a [virtual] cookie?

  3. The words were written by Hunter J. Thompson, a journalist from Los Angeles. When he asks “are we human or are we dancer?” he is berating the American people for their self centred, self obsessed drive for personal material gain, ignoring those worse off than ourselves, such as those in poverty, and for refusing to break the mold and speak up for the disadvantaged. The lead singer of the Killers picked up on this remark. Listen to the song again with this in mind. Hope this is some help, John

  4. Aha, that is interesting. Thank you John. That does make sense, and makes a completely different perspective to the song.

Leave a Reply

