Probably about time i said this

I have been enjoying the church and the home group so much lately … it is great to feel that i belong somewhere. The people are lovely. I’ve tried other churches in Winchester, but i’ve never found such a warm welcome as i have at the Harvest Church.

So i have become a Christian. Well, you could say, i’ve always been a Christian. But i’ve had so many doubts and questions, as many of my readers know so well. I have been agnostic in the extreme, refusing to make up my mind about anything. It was tough! It was also not very comforting in the long run. I still believe that all major religions have their merits, and i’m not saying that i suddenly understand everything, or believe everything that Christianity teaches. But it feels good to have made up my mind to follow one path and feel accepted on it.

Here’s the verse that converted me:

For even if there are so-called gods, whether in heaven or on earth (as indeed there are many “gods” and many “lords”), yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom all things came and for whom we live; and there is but one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom all things came and through whom we live.

1 Corinthians 8: 5-6 (New International Version)

That was it, that bit in bold. Other people can believe in other gods. That is perfectly valid, and more power to them for having their beliefs and understandings. Yet for me, this is what i have decided to believe.

It probably comes as a bit of a surprise, after my determination that the church members were not going to convert me! I actually feel a little bit embarrassed, having to come out as Christian! But it feels right. I feel a weight has been lifted. I was searching, and i found what i was looking for. I now have something to believe in. I now feel loved by God. It wasn’t a naive decision; it was “Okay, this sounds good. I’m willing to believe it might be true, and if it is, i had better do something about it.”

I promise i’m not going to become a bible-bashing evangelical Christian! I know as well as anybody how important it is to follow your own path and make up your own mind. However, i am perfectly willing to talk about my experiences with anyone who wants to know.

5 comments on “Probably about time i said this

  1. Thanks for sharing Aimee. This was a nice surprise in my google reader this morning. I’m very happy for you :)

  2. Thanks Jim! That’s nice to hear!
    Um, i’m having trouble placing who you are. Even your gravatar is not helping me! Do we know each other?

  3. it is good to see how happy you are in your decision. faith is a difficult thing to have, and i am often almost jealous of those who have attained it. having been brought up in the oh so christian southern louisiana, i have struggled with my beliefs (or lack thereof) my whole life, and continue to do so. while i will probably never announce that i am a christian, i applaud you for making the decision, and mostly for the way in which you made it. and on my birthday, no less. now we ‘sort of’ have the same birthday! happy birthday aimee.

  4. Ah, thanks Liz! I’m so glad you read this because i thought you would be pleased for me! :)

    Thank you Cheryl. I was also brought up Christian, and i have to say that after being “Christian by default” it was very hard to move away from believing just because my parents believe, to making my own decision and believing because i personally have chosen to do so.

    Faith is a peculiar thing!

    And happy birthday to you! :D

Leave a Reply

