Feeling excited about something!

I wrote the following on Saturday 30th May and somehow failed to publish it …

It’s a beautiful day. I feel the need to get out, do something different. I’ve got that feeling like “Something’s coming” from West Side Story.

This morning i watched the Google Wave presentation. I thought it was pretty good but not that ground-breaking. It’s just a mashup of all sorts of different ideas: email, instant messaging, wiki, document editing. The live collaboration is cool but really just shows the power of XMPP (Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol).

It triggered off a feeling in my head that i need to do something awesome. I’ve had this feeling twice before in my life. First time i learnt PHP and i came up with my own CMS. Second time i learnt Rails and wrote MyChores. I’ve got that same feeling that i had both of those times, like there’s an idea in my head. Something cool that i can’t quite figure out what it is, but there is something creative bubbling in my head. I need to learn something, and i need to channel this potential energy into something wonderful.

I think it might have to do with Google Web Toolkit and mobile technology. I’ll look into it and see what i can learn from it.

However, i feel that today is not the day for sitting at a computer. I’ve had an insanely busy week at work, and i feel i need to get out and enjoy the sunshine. It’s a glorious day. I plan to take a trip down to Portsmouth, get some fresh air, look at the sea, maybe do some shopping, do a lot of thinking. I’ll take the boat over to Gosport and be at today’s geohash location for 4pm. I don’t know whether anyone else will turn up, but i’ll take a camera and maybe knock on the door of the house where the geohash happened to fall today!

17 comments on “Feeling excited about something!

  1. Thanks for the post, I enjoyed reading it, It's my first visit and have already started liking it!

  2. First time i learnt PHP and i came up with my own CMS.However, i feel that today is not the day for sitting at a computer. I've had an insanely busy week at work, and i feel i need to get out and enjoy the sunshine. It's a glorious day

  3. Something cool that i can't quite figure out what it is, but there is something creative bubbling in my head. I need to learn something, and i need to channel this potential energy into something wonderful.

  4. I don't know whether anyone else will turn up, but i'll take a camera and maybe knock on the door of the house where the geohash happened to fall today!

  5. Don't know whether anyone else will turn up, but Will take a camera and maybe knock on the door of the house where the geohash happened to fall that day ;)!

  6. Interesting! Looking forward to read more of these articles! I really appreciate your hard workk! I'll look into it and see what i can learn from it.Regards

  7. It's really good to sometimes unwind after a hard days at work – most especially if you're tack in front of the computer whole day. A refreshment is needed once in a while and you are correct to feel the beauty of the environment, the sea breeze and more. It's like a gift for yourself.

  8. So, did anyone else turn up, or were you all on your own at Gosport? Never been there myself.

Leave a Reply

