Good news for Google addicts!

Oh my word i am thrilled to hear news of Google’s new operating system, coming next year!

I admit it: i’m a Google addict! I’ve previously said that Google products are like chocolate bars: i always have to try the new ones! I used to be cautious, not wanting Google to follow me all over the internet, so i always logged out quickly. But recently i’ve thrown caution to the wind! I have fully immersed myself into Google Mail, Chat, Calendar, Docs, Maps and Reader. We use Google apps at work for all our communication needs. I’m considering getting an Android phone and writing apps for it. I basically love Google!

Chrome OS will be a super-speedy operating system (based on the Linux kernel) that will do one thing and do it really well: the web! With a great lightweight browser, the push towards HTML 5, Google Wave, and Google Gears for offline access, everything is pointing to the gap between desktop applications and web apps narrowing, and web apps taking over.

Haha, i just realised, they’re finally going to have to write Chrome (the browser) for Linux! Awesome! It’s been 9 months i’ve been waiting for that!

Update – things have moved on since i last checked – you can now download a development version of Chrome as a deb file for Debian and Ubuntu. The install was quick and easy, and it seems to be working pretty well, apart from keyboard shortcuts.

This is a Google world we’re living in, and i fully embrace it! :D

35 comments on “Good news for Google addicts!

  1. I was thinking of getting an Android phone for my next phone as well! (Of course, probably not at least for another year…) If you were writing apps for it I think I'd definitely get one :o)

  2. I have given up too attempting to blog Google from knowing everything. The other day read a post about how Google knows more about you than your mother. I am going to check out the new operating system.

  3. It is so true: Google are going to find out all about us anyway – we may as well submit willingly to our new overlords! So long as they don't use our data for anything malicious, i'm fine with it. If they want to help me by finding relevant advertisements of things that might genuinely interest me, then i'm happy for it!

  4. I once had an experience where the volume of about 60 people singing suddenly sounded more like 200. Just because you hear something doesn't mean it is there.

  5. I can't wait for it as well, do you know if our files will be stored on their servers? like photos, documents, ect? cause if they are we never have to worry about back ups anymore.

  6. I've also given up logging out of Google – it seems that as soon as you've logged out of one app, there's another one you need. All big software/hardware corporations have the ability to 1'do evil' with our data but if you avoided using them, you'd probably have to live in a dark cave..!

  7. Nice comment post. Really I like Google Chrome very much. Thank you for shearing this.

  8. Isn't Chromium for Linux developed by another developers than Google? I agree, I was also excited when I heard about the arrival of Google OS, initially they're targeting netbook market which is good because they all need is an OS to access their web and do their task. I admit that I am also a bit susceptible about Google but recently, I am willing to trust them and do more on web. But for Docs and Spreadsheet, I prefer normal Office applications as they're more responsive than webs.

  9. Isn't Chromium for Linux developed by another developers than Google? I agree, I was also excited when I heard about the arrival of Google OS, initially they're targeting netbook market which is good because they all need is an OS to access their web and do their task. I admit that I am also a bit susceptible about Google but recently, I am willing to trust them and do more on web. But for Docs and Spreadsheet, I prefer normal Office applications as they're more responsive than webs.

  10. I am doing testing on Google chrome and still find it to be buggy. Still using windows XP , but i would like nothing more than this too succeed !

  11. It's exiting news that Google's OS is coming. Google is ultimate in everywhere. Definitely OS will be also ultimate. Waiting to check it out..

  12. There are some features that distinguish Google chrome among other browsers. I like that Google Chrome has this history that can be viewed on tabs. I have a good photographic memory anyways, so it helps me a lot. It has also a theme selection which you can download anytime you want to change your theme. I actually do it twice a week. I also like the idea that address bar can be use as a search bar. I’ve been used to it so when I switch to Firefox, I feel uneasy.

Leave a Reply

