Geocaching again!

I enjoyed geocaching so much yesterday, i was keen to go and find another one today!

My first try was GC1NAE3 – Time At The Bar – The Market Inn. I think i know approximately where it is, but i couldn’t find it without attracting unwanted attention from the many passers by. I think i’ll have to go back in the middle of the night to check whether my suspicions are correct on that hiding place!

Next i tried for GC1P23E – Close Cathedral Close and succeeded! It took me a while to find it, mainly because of nerves. Anyone who finds this one will understand what i mean when i say you have to be a bit brave! But i did find it, and i took it to the nearby bookstall of the cathedral to have a look at the contents:

Inspecting the geocache at the Cathedral bookshop

There was recently a geocoin in this one, but although i found a few foreign coins, the geocoin was not there. It must have already moved on. I added my name to the visitor log (with some difficulty due to the tiny pencils!) and added a little Kinder egg toy:

Ready for return

If i go again i’ll probably take a pencil and a pencil sharpener. Actually, that could be a good thing to take to all geocaches; they would often be useful.

It was quite fun to put it back in its hiding place and walk on knowing that i’d found something that not many people know about!

Already i am immensely enjoying geocaching. Unlike geohashing, it’s something you can do at any time, and it’s equally enjoyable by yourself as it is with friends. There are some geocaches on St Catherine’s Hill and the Hockley Viaduct which i’m really looking forward to finding. I’ve been saying for a long time that i’d like to see those places … and the added possibility of finding a geocache gives me just enough reason to make it soon!

I’m going to want to create my own geocache at some point. I’m just trying to think of a good hiding place! :)

34 comments on “Geocaching again!

  1. Wow, up until now, I have never heard of geochaching. I researcghed a bit into…sounds like a very interesting activity! Thanks for the post! Nice photos!

  2. Geocaching – Geo cashing is a great ideea. I will like to try this game. Thanks for posting this reat article.

  3. I have searched for the term Geocaching and finds it's amazing. I will looking to try it. Thanks for a nice stuff. Really good.

  4. Until recently i never heard about Geocaching, most properly as i live in country where it is not that widely spreed, but one evening i ended up watching a German program about Geochaching and i must say it is really fascinating, and i think excellent way of getting exercise not only for Adults, but especially for the kids.In the Program on RTL they mentioned, that they had problems with people stealing the geocache, especially in the larger cities, is that also a problem you have occurred?Morten

  5. Um, yeah geocaches do sometimes go missing, but not too often. It's the main reason why we have to be a bit careful when finding geocaches so as not to attract attention to people who don't know what it is.I believe there are geocaches all over the world. Go to http://www.geocaching.com/seek/default.aspx to have a look if there are any near you.

  6. Excellent Aimee thanks for the link, i justed checked it, and it turns out that there is plenty of geocaches in my area, now i just have to convince my kids to go searching with me.A guess finding a good item to leave in the geocache would also be an interesting thanksOnce again, thanksMorten

  7. Very good quality of the article, long ago that looked for information on this subject (Geocaching ) and this Web site me has been helpful. Thank you very much by the information and a warm greeting from Chile.

  8. um agree with you. In the Program on RTL they mentioned, that they had problems with people stealing the geocache, especially in the larger cities, is that also a problem you have occurred?

  9. um agree with you. In the Program on RTL they mentioned, that they had problems with people stealing the geocache, especially in the larger cities, is that also a problem you have occurred?

  10. Geo Caching is really a very interesting out door game. It's a treasure hunting game through the use of a gadget to find the hidden object. I came into this kind of out door fun for two years already and it is very addicting and enjoyable to play.

  11. The text and pic's are so large I have to page over to read the right side of the page. I have done yahoo…. view… text size…smallest. I posted this question yesterday and (accidently deleted it) I received on answer.. go to the web site and control … center roller on the mouse roll up or down to change the size. It did not help. I could make bigger not smaller . Helphttp://www.textogratis.com/

Leave a Reply

