Apprenticeship

I am pleased to say that today i have been offered an apprenticeship under Enrique Comba Riepenhausen and i have accepted! From this moment on we have entered into a formal mentor-apprentice relationship where i will learn as much as possible from Enrique, and Enrique will mentor me to become a better software crafter. I expect it to be hard work but very rewarding.

I am proud and honoured to have been given this opportunity. I am glad that it has become official because i need my learning to be accountable to somebody. I am great at starting new things but really bad at following them through. To be answerable to Enrique will be very good for me, and i know that there is a lot that i can learn from Enrique.

My first task is to write a wiki engine in pure Ruby, with no libraries other than a testing framework. So no Rails, no Sinatra, no Mongrel, no plugins. This is to teach me the real core of Ruby as a language, without relying on other people’s code for shortcuts.

I guess the first thing i need to figure out is how to make the application listen for HTTP requests. Which i can honestly say right now i don’t have the faintest clue! Let the learning begin!

Leave a Reply

