Learn to Type Correctly Week

The week has begun! Developers all around the world are making a conscientious effort to learn to type faster, more accurately, more effectively.

This is thanks to Corey Haines proposing a Learn To Type Week! Today we have been given our first instructions for Day 1: do a 1-minute, 3-minute or 5-minute exercise from FreeTypingGame.net with your hands covered over so you can’t peek.

I did the 5-minute test, writing the story of the Elves and the Shoemaker. I made a few mistakes, but i felt quite a smooth rhythm. I got 78 words per minute. That’s not too bad; it’s a nice baseline, something to build upon. In some of my typeracer games i’ve sometimes been getting to 100+ words per minute, so i’d love to be able to get there comfortably and consistently.

One thing i’m really trying to focus on this week is the number keys and symbols. I can touch type letters (on Dvorak keyboard layout) but when it comes to symbols i always have to look. I also need to learn once and for all to use both shift keys and not always to go to the shift key on the left.

Have a good week everybody! :)