Fixing my life

Today i have made a few decisions, a few changes to make my life better.

What is wrong with my life? As it happens, a few things, but these are the most notable problems that i’ve known for a while and didn’t have the courage to admit to:

  1. I watch too much television
  2. I stay up too late
  3. I find it hard to get up in the mornings
  4. I rely too heavily on coffee

Recently i’ve felt i’ve not been getting enough sleep, i feel tired and irritable a lot of the time, i have little motivation to do things, and i am useless without coffee. Caffeine disrupts my sleeping patterns, so the problem is cyclical and self-perpetuating.

So a few things have to change, and i think i’ve found the answers in Steve Pavlina’s blog. Firstly, i’m going to give up coffee. I don’t want to be controlled by caffeine, so i will switch to rooibos tea, which i love!

Secondly, i am going to practise getting up on time. I literally mean practise. Something Steve mentions that i’ve never considered before is practising getting up when you’re already awake. You get undressed, get into bed, set your alarm for 5 minutes time and then practise getting up straight away, having a wash, getting dressed. Then you do it all again. It sounds funny, but it makes sense. Willpower alone is not good enough. Even with the best intentions, 7 o’clock aimee makes the wrong choices. My foggy brain gets confused and tries its very best to convince me to stay in bed. Therefore i need to train my subconscious brain to get up automatically.

Thirdly, i’m going to get up at the same time every day. I will get up at 7 o’clock for the next 30 days. This is something i’ve often said i will do; i’ve done it before and really felt the benefits. With proper training to get up straight away, i can make it work.

Fourthly, i’m going to get to bed at a good time. I want to be in bed at 22:30, reading a book until i feel tired and ready to sleep. I will turn off my phone to avoid the temptation to check twitter and emails in bed. I intend to be asleep by 23:30. To prepare for this i must do the washing up at 21:00, and start getting ready for bed at 22:00.

This is going to take discipline, but discipline is like a muscle: the more it is used, the easier it will become. Lately my discipline has been underused, which is why i’ve been finding things so difficult. I look forward to the benefits of discipline, having more time to read, watching less television, getting to work earlier to prepare for the day, having more energy, breaking my addiction to caffeine.

So with all that written down (so that you can all hold me to it!) off i go to practise getting up when my alarm goes off! :)

24 comments on “Fixing my life

  1. Very Good post, i really loved reading it. Well, everyone has their own preparations in life. Best of luck!

  2. I'm sure you won't regret giving up coffee. Look out for hidden sources of caffeine too – it can be in tablets you take for control of cold symptoms, for example. I gave up caffeine years ago and haven't regretted it. I use it consciously, only occasionally now, when I need a boost. Like before going to a late night event … Be prepared for headaches when you give up the caffeine. Good luck with the changes you are making, they all sound good to me. ::hugs:: (don't give up on hugs, promise?)

  3. Hi Nickie, thanks!I had a terrible headache last night, and i was violently sick! I never imagined i was THAT addicted to coffee! It explains why i've been sick when i've been away to visit family and friends … lack of coffee!But it feels good to have had a couple of better night's sleep and feel actually properly tired and ready for bed. So far i've been doing well at getting up, and i'm feeling brighter and happier for it already! :)

  4. I watch too much televisionI stay up too lateI find it hard to get up in the morningsI rely too heavily on coffeewe are almost the same except the last one, I don't like coffee !

  5. Ugh, I am guilty of all those things too, so I can sympathise with you. From somewhere you've got to just find the motivation and do it one step at a time. I'm happy for you that you want to get up and change your life, it's an admirable thing to do. I wish you the best of luck.

  6. Discipline, discipline, discipline is the key as well as no internet after X o'clock (your X may vary, mine is early) and something to break that caffeine addiction.

  7. Thank you. I'm sure there's a lot more thta i could fix in my life, but this gets me a long way towards solving the immediate problems.

  8. Hi Aimee, I just found your blog today. Definitely worth a bookmark! I have never tried rooibus tea. I need to find out what that is! I am a sweet tea drinker all the way! I gave up caffeine for 2 months, and I saw a difference. However, I have incorporated back in my life in SMALL amounts. By doing that, I see a bigger difference when I drink a smaller portion. Maybe you don't have to give it up completely. :)

  9. Rooibos tea is from South Africa. (We often call it Red bush tea). It is naturally caffeine free and has a very nice flavour, i find it slightly sweet, caramel sort of flavour. It's nice with or without milk, also with or without sugar.When the 30 days are up, i intend to do the same as you: incorporate caffeine back into my life in limited amounts, to enjoy it rather than depend upon it.

  10. I'm inspired on what you wrote Aimee, i'm not getting enough sleep too because of work. I'm working 12 hours a day infront of the computer because i need to earn money, but i just realized just now that money is useless when i got sick because of pushing myself to work all the time and not getting enough rest. Thanks Aimee you just woke me up.

  11. I have also big problem with daily quantity of coffee. I'm so heavy addicted on coffee and can't help myself. Also TV is one of my problems. 90% of watching TV is wasted time. You are nor alone with your problems, see?

  12. RESPECT for having the guts to get up and get it done. The only way you can lose is if you quit. If you keep going despite failures then you are bound to succeed one day. Keep us posted.

  13. I don't have problems with TV anymore but I am hooked to youtube (which is just as bad). I am in the process of resolving myself to get more social and go out the house more often. I have a problem with staying up late too, try as I would I keep ending up in the same pattern. I need to get more discipline into my life.

  14. Well, Life is About living & no Matter what People tell you, Live it up as you want. Just Live upto your Dreams, Make your Own way. Thumbs Up! you are doing Good Work, by sharing your Lifestyle via Blog.

  15. Wow! Good luk to you! Think you and I are pretty much interchangeable! Hope the coffee thing is going well….I don't think I'm ready for that quite yet!

  16. Well all you need to do is rest!You are stress.Watching television in an overtime is much stressful than doing things or fixing your house!!!Dont iuse of watching T.V overtime for your health and safetiness.

  17. Just ran across your post here and no updates for a while. How is the getting more sleep and getting off the coffee thing going? It takes 21 days to form a new habit they say.

Leave a Reply

