7languages7weeks – what’s happened?!

Hello!

Ummm, so i’ve been a complete failure at week 5, the Erlang week.

I finished the Scala week and was really impressed by the concurrency and actor support, as well as the ability to parse XML as a top-level concept. I think i am actually a Scala convert: it’s one that i definitely want to look into more.

I have read the Erlang text but not done the exercises. I’ve been working away from home a lot recently, in Edinburgh. I wasn’t sleeping very well, and i found i’d become very lonely. This last week it was more important for me to spend time with new friends Will, Alistair, Kate, David, Adrian, Joe and Ryan. I’ve been juggling and slacklining, finding geocaches and going out for meals. I needed to do that for my own sanity, which turned out to be more important than studying Seven Languages in Seven Weeks. Thank you to everyone who has been a friend to me the last fortnight. Scottish people are nice! :D

Alberto has kindly agreed to lead tomorrow’s discussion. I’ll be there but i don’t feel able to direct the conversation because i didn’t do the Erlang exercises.

I am now back home for a fortnight and looking forward to getting back into studying for the last two weeks of Clojure and Haskell.

One comment on “7languages7weeks – what’s happened?!

Leave a Reply

