Getting chromedriver to work with Ruby selenium-webdriver under OSX Mavericks

I interrupt my soprano-saxophone-and-bass-guitar-playing evening to write very quickly about something that annoyed me today. I can’t find the fix anywhere else on the internet, so i guess it’s up to me to provide the solution.

Yesterday i upgraded to OS X Mavericks. Which is nice. Free upgrade, woo! Most things work well, though i had a few Java version issues.

Today i found that selenium-webdriver was not able to launch Chrome with chromedriver. It would open and immediately quit.

A quick google reveals that the workaround is to start chromedriver with the --verbose flag and then it magically works again. Which is true in my experience. But all the examples are for selenium wedriver called by Java or Python and i couldn’t find one for Ruby.

The first thing i did was upgrade selenium-webdriver gem to 2.37.0 and chromedriver to 2.4. I checked my version of Chrome; it is 30.0.1599.101 which is apparently up to date. When none of those things made any difference, I investigated the verbose option.

I thought i would just have to pass --verbose to the Capybara::Selenium::Driver via the args or switches option. But no. That will send the flag to Chrome when it launches, but i need the flag to be set on chromedriver.

Ruby open source to the rescue!

I poked around in the source code for service args and found this:

# selenium/webdriver/chrome/bridge.rb

module Selenium
  module WebDriver
    module Chrome

      class Bridge < Remote::Bridge

        # ...

        def extract_service_args(opts)
          args = []

          if opts.has_key?(:service_log_path)
            args << "--log-path=#{opts.delete(:service_log_path)}"
          end

          args
        end

        # ...

      end
    end
  end
end

Hmm, so the only service arg you can set is the --log-path. That’s no good.

Ruby monkey patching to the rescue!

In my cucumber features folder i made a support file to monkey patch that method, and add a possibility of sending any service args i like.

# features/support/selenium_webdriver_monkey_patch.rb

module Selenium::WebDriver::Chrome
  class Bridge
    def extract_service_args(opts)
      args = []
      args += opts.delete(:service_args) if opts.has_key?(:service_args)
      args << "--log-path=#{opts.delete(:service_log_path)}" if opts.has_key?(:service_log_path)
      args
    end
  end
end

Now in my env.rb file i just have to require the monkey patch file and i’m able to send the verbose flag.

# features/support/env.rb

# ...

require 'selenium-webdriver'
require 'selenium_webdriver_monkey_patch'

# ...

Capybara.register_driver :selenium_chrome do |app|
  Capybara::Selenium::Driver.new(
    app,
    browser: :chrome,
    service_args: ["--verbose"])
end

# ...

Hey presto, now i can set the verbose flag on chromedriver, and sure enough, it works. I am testing in Chrome again.

It seems a really horrible hack, and i hope a better solution is found soon, either from a Mavericks update, or chromedriver, or maybe selenium-webdriver will add this option for service args in a future version.

I still don’t really know why verbose works when normal mode does not. But there we go. I can test again tomorrow, and that makes me happy!

Now, back to my bass guitar! :)

2 comments on “Getting chromedriver to work with Ruby selenium-webdriver under OSX Mavericks

  1. Hi Aimee,

    Thanks for this. I tried to use Chrome for the first time in ages this afternoon and had the same issue.

    I’ve followed your instructions, but I keep receiving the following error when I try to run my tests:

    `cannot load such file — support/selenium_webdriver_monkey_patch (LoadError)`

    It then refers to line 13 in my env.rb file which is:

    `require ‘selenium_webdriver_monkey_patch’`

    It’s probably some kind of rookie mistake on my part, but do you have any idea on what I’m doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance!

    Andrew

Leave a Reply

